Team & Contact

We strive to:

  1. CENTRE RELATIONSHIPS built on integrity, respect, and inclusion
  2. ADAPT our services to your contexts and needs
  3. ENHANCE YOUR EFFECTIVENESS as a professional in higher education teaching and learning

Leadership

Brad Wuetherick

Associate Provost, Academic Programs, Teaching and Learning

brad.wuetherick@ubc.ca

 

Key areas of expertise: Scholarship of teaching and learning, mentorship, undergraduate research, high impact educational practices, equity and student success, Indigenization of higher education, and academic development. Read my bio

Ramon Lawrence, Ph.D.

Academic Director, Centre for Teaching & Learning

ramon.lawrence@ubc.ca

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Impacts of artificial intelligence on education, student help seeking and support, automated assessment systems, integrative evaluation of teaching and peer reviews. Read my bio

Janine Hirtz, M.A. (Education)

Assistant Director, Centre for Teaching & Learning

janine.hirtz@ubc.ca

 

Key areas of Expertise:
As an advocate for teaching excellence within the institution, I focus on facilitating collaboration, partnerships, faculty development and support. Read my bio


Educational Consultants

Ahlam Bavi, PhD (ABD)

Learning Design Specialist

ahlam.bavi@ubc.ca

 

 

Key areas of Expertise:
As a digital and media researcher and educator, my expertise spans instructional design, UX/UI design, and course development for adult learners. Read my bio

Jessica Bayer, M.Ed.

Educational Consultant, Indigenous Initiatives

jessica.bayer@ubc.ca

 

 

Key areas of Expertise:
My focus is walking with others on our personal and professional journeys of decolonizing and Indigenizing our life and work. Read my bio

Noah Chenoweth

Indigenous Initiatives Fellow

noah.chenoweth@ubc.ca

 

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Indigenous education, Experiential education, land-based learning, Indigenous methodologies, teaching Indigenous learners. Read my Bio


Electra Eleftheriadou, Ph.D.

Educational Consultant, Inclusion

electra.eleftheriadou@ubc.ca

 

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Strategizing, coaching, consulting and facilitating professional development for greater equity and inclusion in teaching and learning. Read my bio

Barbara Komlos, Ed.D.

Educational Consultant, Curriculum & Faculty Development

barbara.komlos@ubc.ca

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Course design, learner-centred syllabus, course and program-level assessment, teaching philosophy, language teaching, academic writing, qualitative research. Read my bio

Jeannine Kuemmerle (on leave)

decorativeEducational Consultant, TA & Student Development

 

 

 


Riley Petillion, Ph.D.

Educational Consultant, TA & Student Development

riley.petillion@ubc.ca

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Qualitative research, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, active learning pedagogies, classroom facilitation strategies. Read my bio


Learning Technologies Team

Abir Cosyn, B.Des, MALaT

Manager, Learning Technologies & Strategy

abir.cosyn@ubc.ca

 

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Leading multidisciplinary teams in support of technology-mediated education, pedagogy, Learning Design, VR/AR immersive learning, User Experience, Agile methodology, conflict-resolution. Read my bio

Sahil Chawla

decorativeProgrammer (Co-op)

sahil.chawla@ubc.ca

 

 

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Full Stack Website Development; data management, analysis, and visualization; Learning Technology Support; Customer Service. Read my bio

Mahi Gangal

Learning Technologies Rover (Co-op)

mahi.gangal@ubc.ca

 

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Learning Technology Support, Website Development, Agile Methodologies, Database Management, Customer Service, Data Analysis and Visualization

Read my bio


Martine Gauthier (on leave)

Support Analyst

 

 

 

Ross McKerlich

Instructional Designer for Technology-Mediated Learning

ross.mckerlich@ubc.ca

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Instructional design, technology mediated learning, relationship building, emerging education technology, removing barriers for learning, research, online and in-person facilitation, faculty development. Read my bio

Michael Ogden

Support Analyst / Programmer

michael.ogden@ubc.ca

 

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Learning Technology Support, Learning Management System Administration, Full Stack Website Development and Management, Agile Methodology. Read my bio


Thivina Randiv

Administrative and Learning Technologies Rover

thivina.randiv@ubc.ca

 

Key areas of Expertise:
Learning Technology Support, Full Stack Website Development, Database Management, Agile Methodology, Customer Service, Event Planning.

Read my bio

Julie Thompson (on leave)

Support Analyst

 

 

 


Administration

Michelle Slade, B.Comm.

Administrative and Events Assistant

michelle.slade@ubc.ca

 

 

Key areas of Expertise:
As an advocate for teaching excellence within the institution, I focus on facilitating collaboration, partnerships, faculty development and support. Read my bio