Team & Contact

At the CTL, we strive to:

  1. CENTRE RELATIONSHIPS built on integrity, respect, and inclusion
  2. ADAPT our services to your contexts and needs
  3. ENHANCE YOUR EFFECTIVENESS as a professional in higher education teaching and learning

For all support requests, please email the CTL Helpdesk.

Meet the CTL Staff

Brad Wuetherick
Associate Provost, Academic Programs, Teaching and Learning

250.807.9364
brad.wuetherick@ubc.ca

Laura Mabee
Administrative Assistant

250.807.8355
laura.mabee@ubc.ca

Janine Hirtz, M.A. (Education)
Manager and Senior Educational Consultant

250.807.9133
janine.hirtz@ubc.ca

Julie Thomson, B.A.Sc.
Support Analyst

250.807.8017
julie.thomson@ubc.ca

Gabrielle Hezekiah, Ph.D.
Educational Consultant for Inclusion

250.807.8587
gabrielle.hezekiah@ubc.ca

Matthew Penner
Support Analyst

250.807.8385
matthew.penner@ubc.ca

Jeannine Kuemmerle, M.Ed.
Educational Consultant, TA & Student Development

250.807.8429
jeannine.
kuemmerle@ubc.ca

Martine Gauthier
Support Analyst

250.807.8402
martine.gauthier@ubc.ca

Jason Toal, M.A.
Educational Consultant for Technology Projects & Strategy

250.807.9027
jason.toal@ubc.ca

Barbara Komlos, Ed.D.
Educational Consultant, Faculty and Curriculum Development

250.807.8683
barbara.komlos@ubc.ca

Vania Chan, M.Ed.
(on Secondment)
Educational Consultant for Online & Lifelong Learning

250.807.9408
vania.chan@ubc.ca

Angela Norkum-Porubanec, B.A.
(on Secondment)
Administrative Assistant

250.807.9293
angela.norkum-porubanec@ubc.ca

Brian Powell, M.A.
(on Leave)

Educational Consultant for Technology Projects & Strategy

250.807.9027
brian.powell@ubc.ca

Learning Design Interns

LDIs are graduate students with intensive training in the fundamentals of learning design in the context of blended learning. LDIs support faculty members in adapting their courses for blended delivery. To learn more about the LDI program, please see the Learning Design Intern Program Companion pages. To request assistance from an LDI, please email the CTL Helpdesk.

Jacqueline Barnett
Learning Design Intern

jacqueline.barnett@ubc.ca

Ahlam Bavi
Learning Design Intern

ahlam.bavi@ubc.ca

Learning Technologies Rover

LTRs are undergraduate students working with the CTL to provide technical assistance with learning technologies such as Canvas, Zoom, Kaltura, etc. To request assistance from an LTR, please email the CTL Helpdesk.

Muskan Jaswal
Learning Technologies Rover

muskan.jaswal@ubc.ca